Work.

It’s another Monday.

I’m not like the majority of pavement pounders, of the white-collar persuasion that slither into their respective cubicles — black coffee in hand and a grimace on their faces….

…I prefer the Mocha Starbucks Doubleshot energy coffee drink, for your information.

Because I’m not akin to this sad, undead group of Americans…I have to start this post with a bit of dry wit and gratitude. I have the supreme privilege of working with a variety of people throughout my day.

2 internships. 2 very different atmospheres.
One on a college campus’ Career Center as a Career Counselor and the other as a Counseling intern at a non-profit Child and Family Therapy center. In the morning, I’m surrounded by suits, ties, and resume samples. In the other, casual khakis and play therapy rooms. For the past month and a half, I’ve juggled these two jobs with a bit of caution. Because I don’t want to give 50% of my effort to each, cheating myself and my organizations of a fully competent employee. But, combining a total of 10.5 hours of work, with graduate classes, AND planning a wedding is quite the task.

Which is why I have my Quiet Time with God for breakfast every morning. Forget Dunkin Donuts. Also, I’m extremely wary of forgetting why God’s given me these opportunities.

Sure, it is quite easy to get caught up in the politics of each distinct position, in relation to the rest of the employees. I could run around stressing about presentations, appearing competent among already established, brilliant Career Counselors, and secretly competing with other departments at the university. Definitely, I could worry about Medicaid, staying afloat as a non-profit, and cleverly maneuvering through clients seeking disability.

But I’m not.

I purposefully stand on the outskirts of these two places. Not in an air of elitism or pride. But I stand with my buttoned-down shirt sleeves rolled up. Ready to tackle, not one, but two unique callings. I can’t lose my sanity or my sense of purpose.

With a steady hand to the plow and a grateful eye on eternity, I pray that God will be pleased with me at the end of it all. Nothing else matters.

2 thoughts on “Work.

  1. I love your writing. I was following you on Blogger on one point, but now that you’re on WP it makes it easier to keep up. *taking in a seat* I got some catching up to do.

    Like

Leave a Reply

